top of page
Search
  • musicbykrisvandyke

1954

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

(lyrics at bottom)



This was the first song that I wrote when I got to Bellingham for college. I was in my early-twenties, so I was still heavily leaning on my Ayn Rand influence. This song is about how collective values can influence what we want out of our lives; it is about judging people as a group of us, seeing oneself as outside of the collective.



1954

You're so cool you play guitar, with a penny from '54

With a house atop your hill you can look down on all of us (all of us).

In defense: I've never faltered; my spirit, my mind, my goals.

I don't want or need your heroes, just a moment on my own


In my life I wanted more

You've said that a thousand times

In my life I asked for more

But it's not enough, not enough, whoa.


Yolk these folks to sow these seeds, so we all have something to eat

It's no our job, our bidding, our lives, but our sacrifices that truly weighs.

It's not about control or order, but the common good of man

Do not fall into that trap which consumes Gods and angels, but mainly men


In my life I wanted more

You've said that a thousand times

In my life I asked for more

But it's not enough, not enough, whoa.


You're reigning down on me

Why don't you take it away, take it away yeah

You're coming back for me

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page