top of page
Search
  • musicbykrisvandyke

Parents

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

(lyrics below)







This song is about the roles of parents. It was Christmas and I was too poor to be able to buy gifts for my family, so I told my parents I would write them a song. I ended up performing it for them on Christmas morning. It's a messed up song for a gift, but I think it was still appreciated.


Parents Father's broken back

Mother's broken heart

Sowing seeds in soil

Of love is where they start

Making up their dreams

To lovely little wishes

The wheel spins around

Now they're washing dishes

Taken by surprise

How well they fit their parts

Father breaks his back yeah,

Mother breaks her heart


He feels pressure building

She starts to lose her grace

His back begins to give 'way

Her heart, it breaks


A bird with broken wings

Can't teach the young to fly

Send them off in faith

Send them off to die

Just looking for a stone

To cast into the well

Make a wish for heaven

Make a wish for hell

Father bird nudges gently

The swift wind whipping by

Mother bird begs a promise

Baby bird, he flies


Honey spread your wings so wide

Make them sing, baby make them cry

When you're soaring above the world

Remember us, never forget your home

Yeah yeah yeah yeah

A lucid candle will see its end

But in the meantime it does not forget

That shedding light and giving life

Sets you free

In the end you will know you're bound to be

Like dad and me

Bound to be

Like dad and me

Bound to be just fucking dying





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page