top of page
Search
  • musicbykrisvandyke

Jack Johnson

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

(lyrics at bottom)



So, this is another song where I'm like "this sounds like another artists song", similar to my song titled "Mr. A-Z". This song, however, sounds to me like a song that Jack Johnson would write. Well, that's the way it is!


Jack Johnson is yet another song about someone leaving their romantic partner. This song, however, is an attempt to illuminate my disposition (possible pathology) to push away those things which make me happy. Similar to the line "once my front door looks like home I know its time to go" in the song Promises, this is about, once finding some kind of peace and happiness with something, having the desire to remove it from your life.


I would do well to better understand my psyche in this regard. If you have any bright ideas, then please let me know!


Genius lyrics here!

Jack Johnson (lyrics)

I’m making my way down south

Looking for a warmer place

A place to rest my bones, yeah.

I know you want me to stay, but

You got such a pretty face

That I can hardly fight back, I will.


Leave when you say you want me to stay

I will leave you baby, baby, babe, baby

I’ll leave when you say you want me to stay

I’ll leave you baby, baby, babe, baby.


And when I close my eyes

I can’t help but see

All our years right in front of me

And when I ask you why

We weren’t meant to be

You say I must always retreat


I’ll leave when you say you want me to stay

I will leave you baby, baby, babe, baby

I’ll leave when you say you want me to stay

I’ll leave you baby, baby, babe, baby.


This will not last forever

I know myself enough to say

That this is going nowhere

Faster than my train


I’m making my way down south

Looking for a warmer place

A place to rest my bones, yeah.

I know you want me to stay, but

You got such a pretty face

Girl I can hardly fight back, I will.


Leave when you say you want me to stay

I will leave you baby, baby, babe, baby

I’ll leave when you say you want me to stay

I’ll leave you baby, baby, babe, baby.


And when I close my eyes

I can’t help but see

All our years right in front of me

And when I ask you why

We weren’t meant to be

You say I must always retreat


Leave when you say you want me to stay

I will leave you baby, baby, babe, baby

I’ll leave when you say you want me to stay

I’ll leave you baby, baby, babe, baby.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page