top of page
Search
  • musicbykrisvandyke

Junctions

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

(lyrics at bottom)



This is a song I wrote rather quickly and accidentally. Once again, the spirit found me when I made myself available for it! I was housesitting for my brother and suddenly as I was playing this little folky guitar part, my girlfriend in the restroom, I found a melody and started singing it. I frantically wrote lyrics for this song in a matter of minutes. It's a quick song, but I liked it :)


Junctions

Waiting for that train to come, come take me along

But the only noise I hear right now is that cricket song

But that noise it seems so loud.

I hear that scream of freedom now, it's coming down the track

The danger that I feel inside, it tells me to turn back

But I know my time is now.


I see the light, waiting for me now

And I see the light, moving way down south

And I know my father's proud.


The roaring sound of trainwheels taunt me as I stand and stare

And the silent whispers of my friends and family pierce my ears

But that train won't be silenced now.

I run not from my duties but my only chance to live

As I've commited sins that God would surely not forgive,

But I know my Girl is proud. (Yes she is!)


I see the light, waiting for me now

And I see the light, moving way down south

And I know my Girl is proud.


My father he once said to me "now boy you look right here"

"The day will come when times get tough and you will need a mirror"

"That's life, your one, your own".

I looked right back and him and said "father thank you much"

"But I believe a life of fear's a life not worth enough"

With that I left my home.

The old men on the road they say "your daddy did you right"

"For if it were not for him you could not see the stars at night" I know my father's proud.


I see the light, waiting for me now

And I see the light, moving way down south

And I know my father's proud.

I know my mother's proud.

I know my God is proud.

I know my dog is proud.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page