top of page
Search
  • musicbykrisvandyke

Little Bird

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

(lyrics at bottom)



This is a song I came up with while walking my dog into a forest near the house I grew up in; I had a little tune in my head, I was unemployed after college, enjoying the summer, walking my dog. This song's meaning comes from a couple of places in my life: 1) my study of philosophy and the ensuing torment of not understanding the nature of reality and 2) my inherent American Christian values.


The story is about a man (me) out walking (living) in the forest of his mind looking for answers to riddles (the meaning of life). A little bird (God) lands and notices that this man is racking his brain to no avail and asks if it can help. The bird ends up telling the guy that, just as fish belong below the sea and trees drop their leaves, it is human nature for people to be tormented by the meaning of their lives.


The story continues with the man quitting his job and attempting to live a fulfilling life, but still finding that he is unsatisfied. A snake (Satan) comes and tells the man that he will always be tormented, no matter what, the snake will be with him. So, then, the song ends with the man screaming and pleading for help out of this madness of life. If there is a resolution, then it is a resolve to accept a state of torment.


That's kinda where I'm at! lolololololololol : |


Here is the link for the Genius lyrics website analysis!


Little Bird (lyrics)

You were out on a walk

In the hidden forest in your mind

Looking for the answers to those riddles stuck inside.

Then a little bird

Landed and he said to you “my friend

Is there something troubling you and can I lend a hand?”


“What’s the meaning?”

“Why does the leaf fall from the tree?”

“Why am I here?”

“Why are the fish beneath the sea?”

“Why the stars in the sky, so bright, at night, god why?”

There’s something inside you and it just won’t go away

This running in circles is the best part of your day

There’s millions of people we all live our lives insane

There’s something inside us and it just won’t, no it just won’t go away

So then the very next day

You quit your job and left it all behind

Looking for the answers to those riddles stuck inside

The grass is always greener on the other side,

The snake is in your garden and from him you can’t hide, he says


"I will be here for you

You will be here for me too

We will be together always and forever and forever"


There’s something inside you and it just won’t go away

This running in circles is the best part of your day, yeah

There’s billions of people we all live our lives the same

There’s something inside us and it just won’t, no it just won’t go away


Somebody, come and save me

I can’t do this myself

Somebody, come and help me

I can’t figure this out

Somebody, no no, somebody please

Somebody, no no, somebody please

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page