top of page
Search
  • musicbykrisvandyke

Mr. A-Z

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

(lyrics at bottom)



So, you might notice something about the title of this song, Mr. A-Z, and you might be asking yourself, why is it titled after Jason Mraz's 2006 album?


This song is called Mr. A-Z because it was absolutely musically inspired by Jason Mraz and I feel that I almost can't even take credit for the song...or perhaps...I don't want to take credit for the song. Now, if Mraz heard this song he might be like "dude, this song isn't even good enough to be attributed to me, its kind of insulting that you would even call it Mr. A-Z!". That's probably true...not that Mraz would say that...but that the song isn't good enough to be attributed to the great Jason Mraz. Now, however, if I were to title this song something else out of respect for Mraz, I guess I would just call it Sane People or something. Idk.


So, what is this song about?—it's about a few things—it's about how people don't really give a shit about what they're saying to each other; it is about the classic "hi, how're you?" and giving the canned greeting "I'm good! Thanks, how're you!?!" Everybody is familiar with the idea that we don't literally mean to ask how the other is doing, that we're merely completing a practice of greetings. Yes, this is understood. However, it goes a little deeper in that people don't actually give a shit about what they say in most circumstances!—similar to Harry Frankfurt's book titled On Bullshit, people don't care about the truth value of their words.


Here are the lyrics on Genius!


Mr. A-Z (lyrics)

Sane people say many, many, things

People these days don’t really know what they’re saying

Word after word of meaningless interactions

Bore and amuse a simple man like me


I don’t know, I don’t walk right, so I’m walking right out the door

I’m not sure, I don’t talk right, there’s nothing else to say

Make your move, you’re the man, why not just tell her she’s intoxicating

Stand your ground, don’t give in, and keep on playing these silly games


Owwww!


Today is the day I’m’a be all I can be

In the sun, in the shade, in the hail, or in my sleep

I will conquer the world and as God as my witness I claim

That today is the day, the day that will define me


I don’t know, he don’t walk right, so send him on out the door

I’m not sure, he don’t talk right, God has a place for him

Make your move, you’re the man, why not just tell her she’s intoxicating

Stand your ground, don’t give in, and keep on playing these silly games


There’s someone who knows the lines you know

They’ve learned and they’ve memorized the lies

They tell in order to get you to give them just what they need

If only they took a moment, just one moment, they might understand

Understand it, just how, just how they see.

I don’t know, maybe if, I live my life on the line

I might find its just right and I will be free


(unintelligible sounds/scat)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page