top of page
Search
  • musicbykrisvandyke

People

(Lyrics at bottom)

I wrote this song after a long camping trip alone. I would return to civilization and visit my mother while she babysat my nephew/her grandson at my brother's house. My nephew was probably around two or three years old, running around the yard naked on a hot summer day, playing in water. I was sitting on a blanket in the shade, noodling on my guitar, and I imagined what I would do if some stranger walked up to my brother's house requesting a drink of water.


I was raised to be skeptical and untrusting of others, but I had this feeling of peace where people are inherently good and deserve to be appreciated. I had also just been isolated for a long bout in the wilderness, so human contact was special and welcomed. The feeling of being giving of basic needs to those in need was profound for me at this time. I had the thought "what if I were camping and someone came up merely asking for some water...of course I would give them some!...so why is civilization any different?". Why don't we give people the respect they deserve, that we desire/demand for ourselves?


That is kinda what this song is about. Here is the Genius analysis.


People (lyrics) People think the world is upside down

Like the sky is falling

Others live their lives up in the clouds

Their world is just a fantasy

I don’t know you

Let me ask you, how was your day?

I could show you

That there’s something in this world worth saving


People.

People we know

People we love

People


He walks by with holes worn in his shoes

We just make-believe his story

You sit there, the air tastes warm, you brood

We forget about talking

I control you



Let me ask him about his day

I could show you

That there’s something in his world worth saving


People

People don’t know

People we love

People


People say, people say these things, but no one understands

People say, people say these things, but no one’s listening

I want you, to want to, to know that I’m inside of here

People say, people say these things, and we just disappear


People think the world is upside down

Like the sky is falling

Others live their lives all inside out

They worry ‘bout the little things

I don’t know you

Let me ask you, how was your day?

I could show you

That there’s something in your world worth saving


People say, people say these things, but no one understands

People say, people say these things, but no one’s listening

I want you, to want to, to know that I’m inside of here

People say, people say these things

Yeah, yeah, yeah yeah

We just disappear

Yeah, yeah, yeah yeah,

We just disappear


People

People

People

People


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page