top of page
Search
  • musicbykrisvandyke

Queen Bee

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

(lyrics at bottom)



This is a song addressing the tension between living in a civilized and collective society versus living as a pure individual. This is kinda like Freud's Civilization and its Discontents.


Queen Bee

You are my queen bee honey. I work for you for free.

You keep these wheels turning. I give you what you need.

I know that all the pieces fit within your point of view.

I try to make some sense of it, it just make sense to you.


Don't leave, please I need you to tell me who I should be.

Don't leave without an answer. I'll be a useless piece

A bee without his queen.


Inside the hive it's cozy. I kick these shoes right off my feet, uh huh.

Outside is cold and nasty. But still more room to breath.

I know, I see, we won't agree, but please do not forget.

I am the one that's working his fingers down to their tips.


Just leave, I don't need you to tell me who I should be

Just leave without an answer. I'll be a useless piece

A bee without his queen.

A pawn without his king


I know I will find you somewhere

Where we'll be royalty.

You will be my queen,

You'll sit right next to me.

No one will take you from your art,

Unless of course it starts,

A fire at our feet.

I said "no, I'm walking out that door"

"Into a place between"

"The hive and, the hive and the unseen"

That place called liberty.


All day I press these stones together just for myself.

At night I feed my fire, d-delays my dying breath.

I know it sounds so meaningless, but it's what I choose to do.

I wonder more, I wonder more, does it make sense to you?

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page